• Product ID: ESSD-90121
  • Format: SA-CD/CD Hybrid
  • Label: Decca
  • DSD mastering / SA-CD layer: Stereo
  • Deluxe Digipak packaging

Classical masterpiece collection

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release.

ESOTERIC equipment used for re-mastering

These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC´s proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

Experience by yourself…

Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the “soul” hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

Haydn, Mozart

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
String Quartet No.77 in C major. op76-3, Hob.III-77 “Emperor”
1. I:     Allegro
2. II:     Poco adagio (Cantabile) (Thema)
3. Variation I
4. Variation II
5. Variation III
6. Variation IV
7. III:     Menuetto(Allegro)-Trio
8. IV:     Finale(Presto)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
String Quartet No.17 in B flat major,K.458 “Hunt”
9. I:     Allegro vivace assai
10. II:     Menuetto(Moderato)-Trio
11. III:     Adagio
12. IV:     Allegro assai


Alban Berg Quartett
Günter Pichiler (1st Violin), Gerhard Schulz (2nd Violin), Thomas Kakuska (Viola), Valentin Erben (Violoncello)


Producer: Johann-Nikolaus Matthes
Balance Enngineers: Hirmar Kerp [Mozart&Haydn] & Johann-Nikolaus Matthes [Mozart]
Recorded: VI,1990 [Mozart] and XII 1993, 16-24 VI 1994 [Haydn], Evangelische Kirche, Séon, Switzerland12-16 June 1973


Producer : Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Mastering Engineer : Kazuie Sugimoto
(Victor Creative Media Co., Ltd. Mastering Center)